How to keep spare batteries charged?

Old 07-13-14, 01:16 AM
How to keep spare batteries charged?

I have a couple of these spare batteries that I'll be using later on when the current batteries lose capacity to hold a full charge. But I've been keeping these spares around for a few months now and I think batteries need to stay charged or like to stay fully charged? I'm worried if these spare batteries lay around near empty for a year or longer, it may shorten the life of these "new" spare batteries.

How can I keep them charged? I see they have open ended positive and negative wires. Can I just connect them to a AA battery and charge them? Or do they need to be connected to an adapter plug that can be plugged into the wall socket?

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 07-13-14, 06:55 AM
Group Moderator
Batteries will lose their charge over time. If they are spares for later use, they should be left in their mostly uncharged state. Charging them all the time will shorten their life more that leaving them alone. Just store them in a cool dry place.

Old 07-14-14, 09:42 PM
Oh? I didn't know this. I was sure I read that it was BAD to leave a battery empty for long periods of time because then they may not be able to hold a full charge again. So you're saying it's better for me to just leave it near empty? I have conflicting information....now im confused haha. But thanks for your advice. I'll definitely keep that in mind.

Old 07-22-14, 09:15 AM
Can you alternate the batteries? NiCad and NiMH batteries like to be fully cycled and do not handle short usage and constant charging well, If you can charge one set and use the other until it is drained, then swap, you will extend the life of both sets of batteries. Unused batteries whether full or empty will slowly crystalize and lose capacity -- even in an unopened package batteries will lose capacity over time

Old 07-22-14, 10:00 AM
Super Moderator