Use dryer outlet for welder

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-13-14, 06:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Use dryer outlet for welder

Hi

I'd like to plug my 220V welder into my dryer receptacle since I don't have room in my panel to add another 220V outlet. I'd never have to use both devices at the same time, so no problem.

The plug ends however are different so I'm wondering if I could make up a cord to convert the welder plug end into one that fits the dryer. The circuit for the dryer has two 30 amp breakers on it.

Attached is are pictures for both plug ends.

Thanks
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-13-14, 06:53 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
Welcome to the forums!

Just so you know, the breaker is not two 30 amp breakers, it is a two pole, 30 amp breaker. Also your voltage is 240, not 220.

While the best option would be to install a sub panel to get the breaker spaces you need, but you certainly can make an adapter cord to use the dryer receptacle. Just get a piece of 10/3 SOOW cord, a 30 amp 4 wire plug, and a 30 amp 3 wire cord cap. The neutral connection on the 4 wire plug would not be used.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 07-13-14 at 09:51 AM.
  #3  
Old 07-13-14, 07:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Great, thanks.

Where is the neutral connection on the dryer plug? e.g. 12, 3, 6 or 9 o'clock on the picture below?

CraigerL
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-14, 07:46 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
It is the one that looks like an "L". It will be marked as "neutral" or "white" on the plug and the screw will likely be silver colored.
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-14, 07:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Name:  14-50r.jpg
Views: 643
Size:  9.1 KB

X=hot
Y=hot
G=ground
W=neutral
 
  #6  
Old 07-13-14, 07:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Thanks everyone,

On my way to Lowes!

CraigerL
 
  #7  
Old 07-13-14, 09:18 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
The proper fix to use your welder is to have a licensed electrician install the appropriate subpanel instead of using a hack-job homemade adapter.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes