3 wires or 2? White or ground?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-14, 05:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 22
3 wires or 2? White or ground?

I recently ran some 12AWG wire to an outside disconnect to use with a 230v AC condenser unit. I used 3 conductor plus ground, but when I went to hook it up, all that was required were 2-hot and a ground. So after connecting my RED (L1) and BLACK (L2) wires, does it matter if I use the WHITE wire as ground, or the bare ground wire - as long as the correct wire is grounded at my sub-panel? What is the convention when you have 3-conductors and ground wire? Should I tie them both to ground at my sub and condenser unit? I haven't applied any power yet.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-14, 05:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,185
The white/neutral wire is not needed. Put a wire nut on it and tuck it out of the way.
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-14, 09:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 22
Thanks PJ. That's exactly what I was planning on doing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes