Outdoor Kitchen Wiring Questions - Newbie

Old 07-15-14, 01:14 PM
Outdoor Kitchen Wiring Questions - Newbie

Hi all - Newbie here - had this all typed out before and site refreshed or something and wiped it out. I'll try to be brief ... trying to get "safe" power to outdoor kitchen -- nothing elaborate --- L shaped with mini- frig and grill light - as well as a couple of outlets. Really don't want to run from the box ... electrician came out an quoted me $750 to tap into MBR outlet with gfci on exterior wall and then run wiring into island and do the outlets/switches (switch for frig on/off). The MBR lights run off 15 amp circuit with TV, laptop, ceiling fan, etc - not much else except plugs. I question if the 15 amp would support the minifrig during startup surge.

Pre-existing patio. Thought I could cover any runs with conduit etc. I believe I can wire the outlets and switches but want to figure the least inexpensive way to get the wire to the island.

I have little electrical experience (so talk to me like a 3 yr old )) -- Can I just run a heavy duty extension from my existing gfci under the patio and wire to the outlets??

What would you all do ?? Any help appreciated!! These pics are not update to current status -- island is connected with complete bar countertop. Grill will be in shorter L. Want power to come in at bottom of module closest to wall.

Library Slideshow by golfisme56 | Photobucket

Thanks!!!

Sponsored Links
Old 07-15-14, 03:11 PM
Group Moderator
Can I just run a heavy duty extension from my existing gfci under the patio and wire to the outlets?
No. Extension cords or for temporary use only not for permanent wiring..
tap into MBR outlet
What is an MBR outlet? Do you mean a GFCI receptacle?