Subpanel


  #1  
Old 07-18-14, 11:20 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Subpanel

I'll try to keep this short. I ran wire to a subpanel 130' away from the main with 2 ga aluminum (may be too big but it was free). I will only be running some lights and typical outdoor party area stuff, but might have a band play there also. possibly a smoker.

Can i just run off a double pole breaker in the main panel?
What size? It will need to accept a 2 ga. wire.
I already had a breaker for a diconnect that I will have to run through outside because now my wires are too short to go on inside. Had an electrician tell me I could double tap behind the meter, but not so.

Thanks for any help
 
  #2  
Old 07-18-14, 11:47 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Just to make sure:
You ran a 4 wire feed
Neutrals and grounds are separate
You installed ground rods
You used an outdoor panel
120V receptacles are GFCI protected.

If the above is correct, you could probably get by with a 60A breaker. The #2 Aluminum is good for 90A, but there is a big price difference between a 60A and 90A breaker.

I am going to recommend at least 4 20A circuits for the outside food outlets, as some crock pots and other cooking stuff can use up to 1800W each. If you are going to have an outdoor fridge, put that on another circuit. If you plan on having a beer trailer or something similar give that another dedicated 20A circuit.

I would install 2 20A circuits as a minimum for the bands.

What outdoor lights are you installing?
 
  #3  
Old 07-18-14, 11:53 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Had an electrician tell me I could double tap behind the meter, but not so.
Yes, not true. Don't take any advice from that electrician.
Can i just run off a double pole breaker in the main panel?
That is the way you do it.
What size [breaker]? It will need to accept a 2 ga. wire.
You would choose a breaker for the load you expect and pigtail the #2 to wires that fit the breaker.

The wire is probably so oversize I'd suggest you sell it on Ebay and buy the size you need. Not even sure if the wire is what you need if you do use it. Can you give more details.
 
  #4  
Old 07-18-14, 01:48 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Subpanel

Thanks for responding. Really nothing more than regular outdoor lighting. Just a few small lights. Most of the time hardly anything going on out there at all.
Just want to make sure everything is cool when it is party time.

Does the oversize wire hurt anything?
Also I am not familiar with pigtailing wire.

I did run 4 wires and ground rods on each end. I was told I didn't need the ground on the main end but that is incorrect?

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 07-18-14, 02:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I was told I didn't need the ground on the main end but that is incorrect?
You do need four wires.
Really nothing more than regular outdoor lighting. Just a few small lights.
Then all you need is 12-2 UF-b buried 24". You do not need a subpanel. Absolutely no way #2 wire is suitable for this job. I strongly advise against using it unless the distance is more than 800 feet in one direction.
 
  #6  
Old 07-18-14, 03:15 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Subpanel

I may have misled you. The quote about the lights was in response to Justin's question about lighting.

So in a nutshell at any one time I could possibly be running a band, some lights,
a smoker, refrigerator, and stuff like fans, but most of the time not all at once.

I will also have a 220 volt lawn irrigation pump but obviously it would not run at the same time.

It is about 150' from panel to panel. What size wire would you recommend?

Thank You
 
  #7  
Old 07-18-14, 04:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
#8 on a 40 amp breaker should be fine however with the additional info I'd say use the #2 on a 60 amp breaker. If you don't have enough wire for 3 conductors and a ground you can use #8 green for the ground. Assuming the wire you have is black the neutral will need to be remarked white or gray on both ends. The #2 will fit the neutral bar in your panel.
Also I am not familiar with pigtailing wire.
It means to connect a short length of wire. In this case it would be a short wire small enough to fit the breaker. Because the #2 is aluminum and the pigtail will likely be copper you will need to use a connector designed for the purpose. Split bolt or Polaris are two kinds of connectors you can use. If you use a split bolt be sure you get one intended for aluminum. Always use antioxidant grease.
now my wires are too short to go on inside.
Instead of pigtails use a weather proof box and use #6 copper to extend to your breaker panel.

Is your subpanel a main breaker panel? If a 100 amp panel the #2 should fit on that end.
 
  #8  
Old 07-18-14, 05:30 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Subpanel

Thanks for the info, I believe that will get me going.

As far as the main panel it has a 150 amp main breaker and I will be feeding off of another 2 pole breaker.

I really appreciate your assistance.
 
  #9  
Old 07-18-14, 05:43 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sub panel

Sorry I read your last post wrong. The subpanel is good to go.
 
  #10  
Old 07-18-14, 06:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 195 Upvotes on 171 Posts
No additional ground rods are needed at the service panel. They should already be in place along with a water line ground if metallic.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: