Problem with GFI outlet/switch combo

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-20-14, 06:24 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem with GFI outlet/switch combo

Hi I am installing gfi switch/ outlet combo. The gfi outlet itself does not work but the switched leg works. Could it be a bad outlet on the GFI.?
 
  #2  
Old 07-20-14, 08:29 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Tell us all the wires in the box and how you connected them. For it to work the box needs at least two 2-conductor cables (black and white) one of which is hot when measured with a multimeter (but not a non-contact tester).

Assumes cable not conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-14, 03:22 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gfi

I did have power going into the gfi. What ended up was the gfi receptacle itself was bad. When I installed the new one everything worked. Just wished it didn't take me 4 extra hours to figure it out. Thought I had wired it incorrectly.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: