Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

ground wire attached to wall box instead of the plug socket

ground wire attached to wall box instead of the plug socket


  #1  
Old 07-21-14, 04:29 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,658
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
ground wire attached to wall box instead of the plug socket

I was cgaing the wall sockets this weekend and one of the wall sockets did not have a ground wire attached to it. I looked inside the metal electrical box and the ground wire seems to be connected to the metal box instead?
Is this normal? I thought they always had to be connected to the socket screw?
 
  #2  
Old 07-21-14, 04:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
They should be pigtailed to both the box and the receptacle unless the receptacle is self grounding.
ground wire seems to be connected to the metal box
How is it fastened?
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-14, 03:31 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,086
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
I assume the sockets you are referring to are receptacles,that being said if the receptacle is in direct contact with the metal box ,the fiber washers have bee removed from the mounting screws or the receptacle is listed as self grounding the bond wire need not be connected to the receptacle ,as long bond wire is securally attached to the box.
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-14, 06:52 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,658
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It's just a standard receptacle so not self grounding and I left the washers attached.
So, do I get some grouding wire and just connect from the screw on the box to the receptacle?
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-14, 07:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Use green XX THHN where xx is 14 if the breaker is 15 amp and 12 if 20 amp.
So, do I get some grouding wire and just connect from the screw on the box to the receptacle?
You would connect two pigtails to the circuit ground wire. Connect one pigtail to the box and one to the receptacle.
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-14, 07:23 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,880
Received 188 Upvotes on 168 Posts
the fiber washers have bee removed from the mounting screws or the receptacle is listed as self grounding the bond wire need not be connected to the receptacle
Removal of fiber washers does not qualify a receptacle as self grounding.

It's just a standard receptacle so not self grounding and I left the washers attached.
Do like Ray said. OR....you could attach a short piece or ground wire to the receptacle and attach it to the metal box with a ground clip.

That being said, it was not all that uncommon to find receptacles installed like this with metal boxes 35 to 40 years ago.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: