Receptacle wiring burnt?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-14, 10:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 445
Receptacle wiring burnt?

So I found a circuit breaker tripped the other day and traced it to this outlet. I saw very surprised when I opened it up. What would cause this? Its a 15amp circuit carrying a freezer, a small fridge for a kegerator, and ceiling lights in an unfinished basement.

My suspicion is the kegerator which is 12 years old and seems to have some big surges when it cycles. Could a bad fridge cause this?



 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-14, 10:51 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
What would cause this is loose connections. I'm going to assume the screws were loose considering this looks like a 20A outlet.
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-14, 12:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 445
ok great to know. I thought maybe a really powerful surge from a bad/old fridge could cause it. or would that just cause a breaker to trip?
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-14, 01:32 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
A bad surge would trip the breaker. If it was indeed a problem with the fridge there's a thermal protector in the compressor which would most likely trip first.

Also, is there #12 and #14 in that box? Are they on the same circuit, and is that circuit a 15 or 20?
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-14, 02:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 445
good question, I didnt even think to check that. both outlets are on the same circuit which I believe is a 15. but i will have to confirm all of this first.
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-14, 07:55 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,447
both outlets are on the same circuit which I believe is a 15. but i will have to confirm all of this first.
Assuming you are correct and it is a 15 amp circuit and also assuming you are correct and both receptacles are on that circuit, you shouldn't have had the 20 amp receptacle on that circuit. That was a code violation, both should have been 15 amp receptacles. That being said, Justin is probably right that the cause of your problem was loose connections.
 
  #7  
Old 07-25-14, 07:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,137
A loose connection can overheat badly with far less than the circuit rated amperes flowing. The breaker does not trip so the overheating lasts a long time.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes