Shed wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-14, 10:36 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shed wiring

I just completed building me a new shed and I am little unsure on the electrical aspect.

What I want in the shed:
11 receptacles, 2 lights, 2 spotlights on the front.

I will be running the basics, a 20 gallon compressor, and a mini fridge.

From what I have so far read up, I would be better off putting a seperate panel inside the shed then running wiring.

What I need to know:
What size breaker should I install in the main box?
What size/type wiring should I run to the shed?
What type/size box should I have inside the shed?
What size/type wiring should be ran inside of the shed?

The distance from my main box to the shed is probably around 75-100 feet.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-23-14, 04:57 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
There is absolutely no reason for a subpanel unless you are going to need more then lights and maybe power for the occasional electric hand tool. A 12-2 UF-b cable buried 24" is all you need. Or three #12 THWN wires (black, white, green) in PVC conduit buried 18". Or a GFCI protected cable or conduit feed buried 12".

At the shed the cable or conduit is brought into a disconnect first. A 20 amp light switch is all you need for that. If you use cable you will need to sleeve it with PVC conduit where it enters and leaves the ground (but not the buried portion of the cable). At the main panel you would use a 20 amp single poll breaker.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-23-14 at 05:13 AM.
  #3  
Old 07-23-14, 12:50 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was under the impression I would need a subpanel to put the lights on a seperate circuit as the receptacles to prevent the lights being affected.
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-14, 01:18 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many plug-in power tools/shop vacs do you plan on using at a time? Any desire to have a welder or 220V appliances? Any A/C or Space Heaters?
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-14, 01:23 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No 220, I do plan to possibly put in a 5K a/c at some point and a ventilation fan. I plan to have mini fridge plugged in and running and probably just 1 power tool at a time.. I am wanting 2 dual spotlights on the front and 2 overhead lights on the insde and also have a 20 gallon compressor.
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-14, 02:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
So now we finally get the critical information that should have been in your first post. You still probably don't need a subpanel. Just a multiwire circuit. That will give you two 20 amp 120 volt circuits. For that you will need 12-3 UF-b or four #12 THWN (one white, one green one, one black, one red) in conduit. If you want to future proof it use #10 and it can be converted to a 30 amp sub panel in the future if you need more power.
 
  #7  
Old 07-26-14, 07:38 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if i dug a 100 ft ditch.....i would put it in pipe with a 4 wire 220 circuit to a 6 or 8 circuit box....10 g wire on a 30 amp breaker or 8 g on a 40, the subpanel in the shed would let you reset breakers in the shed and not have to walk to the house
 
  #8  
Old 07-26-14, 11:46 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 34 Votes on 26 Posts
How come a self-described "master electrician" doesn't know that standard residential voltages have been 240 and 120 for the last forty years?
 
  #9  
Old 07-27-14, 08:52 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Or keeps calling receptacles outlets in other posts John we know what you mean but we work hard to educate those who post correct terminology. Please keep the informal language to the minimum.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: