Missing Spa Breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-23-14, 02:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Missing Spa Breaker

I am trying to install a two person hot tub using previously used 50A Breaker from inside house using 6 AWG wire. the wire was cut when previous tenant removed their hot tub. they took GFCI Breaker from outside that connected to tub itself.?Attached is photo of cut wire. Can I possibly splice the wire and install new GFCI breaker outside?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-23-14, 08:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
Can I possibly splice the wire and install new GFCI breaker outside?
I see no picture. Yes, you can probably splice the existing conductors and install a new spa panel with GFCI breaker outside using proper wiring methods and materials. You'll need the specific electrical data from your new tub to determine the amperage of the GFCI breaker. It will probably be 50 or 60 amps, but you cannot go on "probably" and need the exact data to proceed. There are also other code requirements you'll have to meet as well.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-14, 08:23 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
  #4  
Old 07-23-14, 09:29 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
If you do splice, how confident are you that you can make a secure joint with such large wire? This might be a job better suited for a professional.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes