Missing Spa Breaker


  #1  
Old 07-23-14, 01:45 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Missing Spa Breaker

I am trying to install a two person hot tub using previously used 50A Breaker from inside house using 6 AWG wire. the wire was cut when previous tenant removed their hot tub. they took GFCI Breaker from outside that connected to tub itself.?Attached is photo of cut wire. Can I possibly splice the wire and install new GFCI breaker outside?
 
  #2  
Old 07-23-14, 07:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,881
Received 188 Upvotes on 168 Posts
Can I possibly splice the wire and install new GFCI breaker outside?
I see no picture. Yes, you can probably splice the existing conductors and install a new spa panel with GFCI breaker outside using proper wiring methods and materials. You'll need the specific electrical data from your new tub to determine the amperage of the GFCI breaker. It will probably be 50 or 60 amps, but you cannot go on "probably" and need the exact data to proceed. There are also other code requirements you'll have to meet as well.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-14, 07:23 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
  #4  
Old 07-23-14, 08:29 AM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 201
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If you do splice, how confident are you that you can make a secure joint with such large wire? This might be a job better suited for a professional.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: