110 wiring in 220 AC Disconnect Box

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-24-14, 09:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
110 wiring in 220 AC Disconnect Box

Wiring a 110v Sanyo Split AC system. Couldn't locate a 110 Disconnect box so using a 220v one.
The 220v one has 2 sets of line/load terminals for the normal 2 black hot wires to make up normal 220v's…… and a ground lug below the above line/load pull disconnect terminals for the bare ground.
For wiring in a 220 unit this is pretty straight forward…..The 2 line blacks in and 2 load blacks out with the bare ground to ground lug. NO white neutral involved.

BUT the question is… When using this box for a 110 hookup (1 blk, 1 white and 1 bare ground) how do you wire. HDepot guy told me to just use one side of the pull disconnect terminals for the black and hook the 2 grounds and two white neutrals to the ground lug…. Suspect this will work functionally but doubt it's code.
Should I instead connect the black to one line/load side of the pull disconnect and the white neutral to the other side so that when the disconnect is pulled then both the black and white side are disconnected………????

I don't really want to go out and find a 110 disconnect box!
What do u think??
b…
I'll try to attach a pic but never did this before so may not work. Hope words are clear enough…….IMG_20140723_214146_395.jpg
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-24-14, 10:02 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,217
Almost correct, but not quite.

You want to remove the white wires from the ground block and wire nut them together. Blacks stay as-is and grounds stay in the ground block.

Neutrals and grounds can only be connected in the main panel, everywhere else they must remain separate.

No need to find a 120v disconnect box. Though next time, you could use a standard box (outdoor if necessary) and a toggle switch. It looks like a 15 or 20A circuit, so a standard toggle switch would have been fine.
 
  #3  
Old 07-24-14, 12:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Thanks for the input. Rewired box per your instructions.
Makes sense to do that rather than breaking a neutral (backup
ground basically).
 
  #4  
Old 07-24-14, 12:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,994
Makes sense to do that rather than breaking a neutral (backup
ground basically).
Neutral is not backup ground.

Tech note: You have 120 volts not 110. That is a 240 volt disconnect not 220.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-24-14 at 01:33 PM.
  #5  
Old 07-24-14, 12:24 PM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
Keep the questions simple for the home depot fools... like for example, "where is the bathroom?" might be one he would have gotten correct.
 
  #6  
Old 07-24-14, 02:07 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,354
Keep the questions simple for the home depot fools... like for example, "where is the bathroom?" might be one he would have gotten correct.
hahahahahaha......That was funny! Believe it or not, there are a "FEW" guys at HD and Lowes and probably Menards too that actually do know what they are talking about. Also, be careful when getting advice from someone they call a Pro, some are just Pro handymen. You just have to be cautious when taking advice from anyone in a box store. Usually it takes only a minute or two to tell if they know what they are talking about. I always recommend the part-time retired guys, they are there because they want to be and don't mind giving you the straight info.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes