Travel trailer 30 amp outlet..

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-26-14, 03:34 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Travel trailer 30 amp outlet..

Can I run a 20 amp line to a 30 amp TT receptacle? I dont need the full 30 amps. Its just for plugging in the TT to charge the batterys.

I could put a regular 20 amp outlet there and use a pigtail 20 to 30 amp but then I will have part of the pigtail exposed to the weather.. So I prefer the 30 amp outlet box as shown here.

Its a 75 ft run..

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-26-14, 04:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 235
RV Recept

The 30amp receptacle requires a 30amp breaker. Table 210.21(B)Because the 30 Amp Receptacle would allow a load that exceeds the ampere rating of the branch circuit (Breaker Rating), the installation would be in violation. 210.22. If you are installing a new circuit make it 30amp rated.
If you install the 20amp circuit to a GFCI receptacle you could run an extension cord to under the trailer and make sure your adapter to the TT cord is held off the ground and out of the weather.
 

Last edited by bahtah; 07-26-14 at 04:37 PM. Reason: additional info
  #3  
Old 07-26-14, 04:37 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Cant I just tag the TT outlet that its 20 amps only?
 
  #4  
Old 07-26-14, 04:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
If 15 amps would be adequate and if the 30 amp breaker was GFCI you might be able to use a 15 amp fused receptacle. Example: Cooper Bussmann Plug Fuse Holder with Outlet Box Cover Unit-SRU-BC at The Home Depot but not sure you could use with an in use cover which would be necessary outside so probably not a workable idea.
 
  #5  
Old 07-26-14, 05:02 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Hmm.. I talked about this before.

I have 50 amp to the shed. I am running ext cord now..

I am running from the shed 75 ft.. I know what I need to do.. I want to run 20amp line to save money. Heck maybe even 15 amp..

But I want the outlet I show in my pic at the camper end. I dont want a regular duplex as when I plug in the RV it will be out of the weather..

Hope this makes sense.. Can it be done or am I forced to install of regular duplex?

( Just for battery charging of the RV through the converter/charger on board the RV))
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes