GFI keep's popping


  #1  
Old 07-28-14, 11:29 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
GFI keep's poping

A little history on my house.
Double wide built June 1995.
No electrical upgrades.
No garage, pool.

Now the problem Started yesterday 7/26/14 GFI in bathroom when reset it works for about 10 sec. Makes a clicking sound and than pops. I have unplugged everything (I hope) from ALL protected systems.
Not sure where to go now. My experience is Air Craft trouble shooting not house.
Thanks for any advise / help.

Have a great day
and remember to thank a VET.
USN Retired.
 

Last edited by Austonpond; 07-28-14 at 12:35 PM.
  #2  
Old 07-28-14, 12:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Disconnect the cable on the line side and using a multimeter, preferably analog, verify you have ~120 volts. Reconnect the line side and disconnect the cable on the load side and see if it will reset. If not it is probably a bad GFCI.
 
  #3  
Old 07-28-14, 02:11 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It will stay reset if I disconnect the Load Side. And I have 120 V. at the Line Side.
Have disconnected ( one at a time, with the Load side on the GFI connected) all down the line GFI and plain Receptacles. But as long as the Load side is connected it still pop's.
 
  #4  
Old 07-28-14, 03:18 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 258
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
you have a small short down the line after the gfi....

or

the gfi is bad.
 
  #5  
Old 07-28-14, 03:36 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
You don't have a short, but a ground fault. GFCI's don't trip on overload. But I agree the GFCI could be bad if you don't find a fault downstream.
 
  #6  
Old 07-28-14, 06:54 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
Have disconnected ( one at a time, with the Load side on the GFI connected) all down the line GFI and plain Receptacles. But as long as the Load side is connected it still pop's.
Where are these downline receptacles and additional GFCI receptacles? GFCI receptacles fed from a GFCI protected circuit have been known to cause nuisance trips, is that what you have? Why are these other receptacles GFCI protected, are they in another bathroom or outside?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: