How do I connect my SAUNA HEATER

Old 07-30-14, 08:43 PM
O
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How do I connect my SAUNA HEATER

Background: I am not an electrician but did a lot myself last year: wiring new circuits for basic household stuff in our place including 1 phase doubled circuits.

Our next project is a sauna heater and I don't know how to hook it up. Here is the diagram:

Name:  Merury Digital Controls.jpg
Views: 44892
Size:  36.0 KB

I've combined two 110v in the panel box with a big 40amp breaker and the big black wire goes into the 3 gang box in the sauna wall:

Name:  3 gang box.jpg
Views: 23236
Size:  31.1 KB

Then we have the heater Front and Inside:

Name:  Heater front.jpg
Views: 14838
Size:  43.8 KB

Name:  Heater.jpg
Views: 16914
Size:  34.5 KB

There's this coil (don't have a clue what this is):

Name:  Coil.jpg
Views: 14933
Size:  29.1 KB

And finally the control panel:

Name:  Control back.jpg
Views: 19707
Size:  34.9 KB

Name:  Control front.jpg
Views: 15649
Size:  33.1 KB

I would like to figure out how to hook this up. A good instruction with the type of wires to use and how to connect to the coil would be great!

I've a few questions so you get an idea what I'm strugling with:

1) What does the 'striped' line for the L3 means in the diagram?
2) The L1 and L2 from the control panel seem clear but where do the H1 and H2 go to on the coil? I can choose between the 'gold' and 'silver' connections.
3) What type of connectors are that on the coil.
4) Where can I get that 1amp 240v inline fuse? Is that easy to install?
5) The L1 and L2 in the heater are clear again but what is that 'H.L.' thing in the heater? Is that the thing with the red wires? And what about that spiral thing? Is that the ground?
6) Where do I put the coil? Is suppose in the heater but I'm not sure.