Trying to FIX my garage... advice and critiquing welcome!

Old 08-02-14, 03:53 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trying to FIX my garage... advice and critiquing welcome!

Hello and thanks in advance for any advice/corrections!

I will begin by stating that I am NOT an electrician, nor to I have a great deal of DIY wiring experience. I am, however, intelligent enough to follow directions and seek out expert advice when I think I need it.

I purchased my house 5 years ago and have made many improvements, but now it is time to "fix" the sins of the past that is my garage sub-panel.

This started out being a simple case of "I only have 4 receptacles out here and one of them only works when I shake it!" (turns out there was a nail through the wire), I need to add a few more receptacles. Having investigated further this has become a "Pandora's Box" project.

Here is a picture of the original garage sub-panel:
Name:  Old_Sub-Panel2.jpg
Views: 1650
Size:  50.2 KB

Yes, that is ten (10) 14/2 NM cables heading into the panel, ALL connected to six (6) 20 amp breakers! Also note the 3 THHN 10 AWG wires coming in from the lower right with no bushing or connector... these wires were taped together behind the sheet-rock and fed into a dryer receptacle, which also connected to 12/2 NM cable feeding a 220V through-the-wall air conditioner in the house, using the bare ground:
Name:  Receptacle_to_Back_Garage2.jpg
Views: 1207
Size:  38.7 KB

So, after discovering that some of these 14/2 cables are supplying power inside the house, I decided that I needed to rewire the garage and try to make things right.

First, I removed all of the sheet-rock and insulation from the garage. Then I removed 5 fluorescent 4 ft. fixtures that had been hanging from chains from the joists and had exposed 14/2 cable to them. These I replaced with 15 Halo ICAT cans with 10 watt Sylvania recessed LED lights, all running to a single 15 amp circuit:
Name:  Cans_Wired2.jpg
Views: 2245
Size:  47.8 KB