Using Junction Boxes to Distribute Power

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-03-14, 10:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Using Junction Boxes to Distribute Power

Finishing up a rear-dormer addition that is going into it's 10th year (and has been dormant for the past eight years).

So. . . I had a family member do a lot of the wiring.

As I start working on the project again I have discovered that he installed junction boxes in the basement and then ran multiple lines to the second floor from those junction boxes.

One box has power in and then multiple lines out to individual outlets in multiple rooms.

Another box has power in and then separate runs for each outlet and fixture in the bathroom.

I have no idea why it was done this way - in the end it used so much more copper than it would have used going from outlet to outlet.

While (I believe) that as long as the junction boxes are the right size they comply with code - it's also my understanding that junction boxes are less than desirable.

I have done a lot of research and can't seem to find anything on why junction boxes are not preferred.

I'd appreciate any insight into the matter.

Anyone have an opinion on distributing power in this way?

Is this a problem?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-03-14, 10:54 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Welcome to the forums.

Wiring from junction boxes to each device is perfectly acceptable. Like you mentioned it does use more wire but it is not prone to any more problems then the standard daisy chain method of wiring.

The junction boxes must always remain accessible for service.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-14, 11:03 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
Not an issue as long as properly sized and remain accessible.
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-14, 05:58 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I have discovered that he installed junction boxes in the basement and then ran multiple lines to the second floor from those junction boxes.
While not a code violation, it is a definite sign of someone who really didn't know what he was doing.
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-14, 08:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
I have no idea why it was done this way - in the end it used so much more copper than it would have used going from outlet to outlet.

every box is a j-box. they are ok. one good point is you can turn any single outlet into a Dedicated circuit very easy from the basement. say, run 2 printers on one wall, you can change 2 circuits easy.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'