Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can I put two 30 Amp receptacles in parallel on a single 30 Amp breaker?

Can I put two 30 Amp receptacles in parallel on a single 30 Amp breaker?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-03-14, 11:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 28
Can I put two 30 Amp receptacles in parallel on a single 30 Amp breaker?

Residential, but home office/network application.

I'm looking to install two large UPS batteries but I only have one spot left in my breaker box, so I can only fit one single-pole 30 Amp breaker. I assume these UPS boxes use the high amperage to quickly charge the batteries.

10 gauge wire of course.

If not, I guess I will have to install a sub panel.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-03-14, 11:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
It's possible your panel will accept tandems.
Can you post the brand and model # of your panel?
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-14, 12:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 563
How much do the UPS units draw? What you're proposing will work fine unless the total amperage requirements would cause the breaker to trip. Continuous load on a 30 amp breaker (or any breaker for that matter) can only be 80% of the rating found this case the 2 UPSs couldn't draw more than 24 A continuously.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'