Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can I put two 30 Amp receptacles in parallel on a single 30 Amp breaker?

Can I put two 30 Amp receptacles in parallel on a single 30 Amp breaker?


  #1  
Old 08-03-14, 12:22 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 27
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can I put two 30 Amp receptacles in parallel on a single 30 Amp breaker?

Residential, but home office/network application.

I'm looking to install two large UPS batteries but I only have one spot left in my breaker box, so I can only fit one single-pole 30 Amp breaker. I assume these UPS boxes use the high amperage to quickly charge the batteries.

10 gauge wire of course.

If not, I guess I will have to install a sub panel.
 
  #2  
Old 08-03-14, 12:39 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 765
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It's possible your panel will accept tandems.
Can you post the brand and model # of your panel?
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-14, 01:05 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 514
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
How much do the UPS units draw? What you're proposing will work fine unless the total amperage requirements would cause the breaker to trip. Continuous load on a 30 amp breaker (or any breaker for that matter) can only be 80% of the rating found this case the 2 UPSs couldn't draw more than 24 A continuously.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: