Garbage Disposal Re-Install


  #1  
Old 08-03-14, 12:46 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Garbage Disposal Re-Install

Greetings--Feeling kind of dopey--Installed new sink/reinstalled the disposal, thought I had re-wired the same way, but no. Line is on separate cirucuit. Line comes in from under sink. Switch from top of counter going down to disposal. Can I wire this to join wires in disposal so it can be switched from switch? Or, do I need to run the power line up to switch? Thanks for the assistance!
Kevin
 
  #2  
Old 08-03-14, 12:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
It is hard to wire a switch loop in the small wiring compartment of the disposal. What colors of wires do you have at the switch and how many?
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-14, 01:04 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Original set up which was working before un-install. ? Single pole switch with one (1) neutral/white and one (1) black/hot line going down to disposal. No power source going into switch. Power source coming up from basement is the same.
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-14, 01:55 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 765
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You will need a junction box.
The black from the power source will be wire nutted to the white going to the switch.
The white wire from the power source will go to the white wire on the disposal.
The black wire from the switch will go the black wire on the disposal.
All grounds tied together.
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-14, 01:58 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
All these cables/wires you speak of are in boxes, correct?
You didn't have Romex cable going into old disposal did you?
This is a pretty simple wiring job if we know this.
You should have 2 boxes, one under sink and one at switch.
Box under sink should have 2 blacks and 2 whites.
Switch box should have 1 black and 1 white.

What we need to know is did your old disposal have a power cord going into a receptacle under sink??
 

Last edited by Handyone; 08-03-14 at 02:19 PM.
  #6  
Old 08-03-14, 02:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Usual way now days is to put a receptacle under the sink and a cord set on the garbage disposal.
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-14, 02:45 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Same disposer-I just unwired the disposal and am re-installing into new sink. No box under sink. Didn't have when it was originally wired-Both switch wires and "power" wires join in at the base of the Badger 9--I was going to wire per previous poster's suggestion. I can
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-14, 03:09 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
OK, But add a cord and receptacle. It sounds like you know how to do it.
Just take what wirenut said and apply the wiring technique to the receptacle.
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-14, 03:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Just surface mount a box on the wall over where the cables come out.

Note latest code may require a GFCI protected receptacle. Check with your AHJ.
 
  #10  
Old 08-03-14, 03:25 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You win (wirenut). No junction box needed. Just harnessed the wires per your direction (which is what I was not able to figure out) and tested, ran like a charm. Thank-you so much !!
 
  #11  
Old 08-03-14, 03:28 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
I hope that was just for testing purposes. The splices need to be contained in a box.
 
  #12  
Old 08-03-14, 03:38 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Just for the record kevmel,

You need a 3-Prong cord attached to disposal, properly grounded at disposal EG screw.

Receptacle box, both receptacle and box grounded.

Switch, grounded.

If you can wire this outside the boxes, you can wire it inside the boxes and do a safe (and good looking) job.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: