Airport Taxiway Lights In The House

Old 08-03-14, 06:55 PM
Airport Taxiway Lights In The House

Hello,

I'm not a residential electrician, but I have 3 years experience in aircraft maintenance school (lots of electrical work). I acquired three Siemens 48A0007 airport taxiway lights (which line the edges of taxiways that aircraft taxi on), and I am wanting to convert them for residential power. My question is below:

- The bulbs are 6.6A/45W (type T10/P) (see attached photo).
- The light fixture has a L-823 plug/cord set. The L-823 is an FAA specification, which is a 2-pronged plug (the FAA documentation says, "Electrical Connection. The electrical rating of each connector must not be less than 5000 Volts (V) for type I connectors, or 600 V for type II connectors. The voltage drop across the contacts of a connected plug and receptacle must not exceed 7.5 millivolts (mV) for the Type I connectors and must not exceed 6.0 mV for the Type II connectors." My fixture's plugs are Type II (see attached photo).

If I cut off the L-823 plug, can I splice-in a residential plug? If so, are there any considerations (wire gauge, plug type, ground wire, etc.)? I'd like to just replace the L-823 plug with a residential plug and plug it into the wall. Is this feasible, or are there voltage/amperage considerations that I'm not aware of? Thank you for any help!

Name:  siemens_taxiway_light.jpg
Views: 3336
Size:  30.7 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 08-03-14, 07:21 PM
Electrical Supply
Suitable for use in 6.6A airfield lighting circuits normally supplied from 1 x 45W isolating transformer. Power consumption varies between 30W and 45W depending upon type of lamp used.
it has a odd power supply.

i would take it apart...put a normal lamp holder in it with a 3 wire pigtail.

Old 08-03-14, 07:26 PM
The runway and taxiway lights I have been fairly familiar with are all high voltage systems. I doubt you can make these work without a transformer. What is the voltage rating of the lights you have?