Bathroom Outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-04-14, 11:56 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Bathroom Outlets

I live in a Townhome community and at the end of a cul-de-sac. All the houses were built the same and I feel pretty comfortable doing work on my own home, as well as neighbors when they need help. Last week, one such neighbor called me to help him replace a few outlets in his bathroom. I asked which ones as we all have three and a half baths, and want to make sure it was not the GFI outlet. Upon inspection it was not so I replaced the outlet, but no power. I check the GFI, it was not working properly so we replaced that too, but still no power. The last bath had a second GFI to it, so I replaced that as well. Checking power and connections in all baths the basement (non-gfi) and main level (gfi) are operating properly, but I have no power to either upstairs? There are no other gfi that need reset throughout the house, but I cannot figure out why this is not working properly? Any suggestions??? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 08-04-14, 12:01 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,609
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your unit and his are the same? If so, I would start by figuring out what all is on that same circuit in your house and look at those spots in his. The problem is almost always at the last functioning or first non-functioning fixture on the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 08-04-14, 12:43 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, both units are the same and from what I can tell, are wired the same. The half bath is where the GFI is and then there are two full baths on the upper level and one full bath in the basement. My house was pretty straight forward when I replaced all the outlets and I had no issues. What is the easist way to test the circuits so I can try and start to pinpoint the problem? Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-14, 01:13 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
Make sure you check ALL the GFCI devices. In the basement (finished and unfinished), outside, in the garage, in any crawl spaces. Many times they are hiding some place.

Otherwise, make sure all the breakers are not tripped, and If you have a meter, make sure they all have 120 volts to ground.
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-14, 02:40 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is one GFI I noticed that does not trip when tested at the actual GFI. It will trip when tested at on outlet that it is tied to, but otherwise will not and when it is tripped, there is still power to it. Could that be a possible problem? Although I did look at the GFI itself and cannot see any wiring issue or it being misswired. Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-14, 07:47 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
Yes, that could be the issue. If you have a meter you can check for voltage on the load side screws.
 
  #7  
Old 08-04-14, 08:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
Older gfis would trip and remain powered but downstream was dead. Turn off the power and remove the GFI noting which are line and load cables. Temporarily wire but the blacks together and the whites to see if power is restored downstream.
 
  #8  
Old 08-04-14, 08:54 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Older gfis would trip and remain powered but downstream was dead.
the hot feed is going to the load side of the GFCI Receptacle outlet
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: