2 gang box - 2 duplex receptacles

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-04-14, 06:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
2 gang box - 2 duplex receptacles

I'm wiring in 2 new duplex receptacles to a new 15 amp circuit. The 12/2 wire has been ran but not connected to the box. I've watched videos on wiring and see that some people use pigtails and wire tie the hots and neutrals separately and then run them to first receptacle and 2nd receptacle. Is doing this type of pig tail any different then running the hot straight to the first screw as well as the neutral straight to its terminal. And then run a short piece of 12/2 and connect black on 2nd screw to screw on 2nd receptacle terminal and same thing for neutral. What's the difference between the wire tie pigtails and just direct wiring without wire tie pigtails?

Read my next post for bare copper ground connection question.
 

Last edited by Jrk5230; 08-04-14 at 07:52 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-04-14, 07:45 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
Welcome to the forums!

By wire tie I suspect you mean wire nut.

There is no difference in performance, it is just a different way of doing it. All are correct and will work fine.
 
  #3  
Old 08-04-14, 07:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
Yes wire nut. Wire nuts seem like more unnecessary work. The box is plastic unlike the rest of the boxes in the house being metal. How do I wire the ground for this new circuit? Do I run the ground from the breaker to the first receptacles green screw and then another from the first receptacle to the 2nd receptacles green screw? Is there an easier way to do it so I only have 1 ground attached to each receptacle screw and not 2 grounds attached to receptacle 1?
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-14, 08:00 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
You may only have one wire under one screw. Do not double up wires under screws as that makes a very poor connection and could lead to a fire.

What I like to do is to loop the wire around one screw and tighten, leaving enough free wire so the receptacle can be removed later per code. (about 3-6" from the face of the box) Then take the end of the same wire and bend a hook on it. Hook to the other ground screw on the other receptacle and tighten the screw.
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-14, 08:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
Ok that makes sense. So just keep ground long enough to wrap around 1 screw and then around the 2nd screw as well?
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-14, 08:17 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
Correct. Sometimes it is easier to start at the end of the wire, do the hook, and connect it to the screw. Then just loop the wire in the middle of the wire around the other receptacles ground screw. But either way works.
 
  #7  
Old 08-05-14, 08:14 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,397
I'm wiring in 2 new duplex receptacles to a new 15 amp circuit. The 12/2 wire has been ran but not connected to the box.
Why would you install a 20 amp rated circuit and then only protect it at 15 amps? Makes no sense to me.
 
  #8  
Old 08-06-14, 07:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
Because 15 amp is all this circuit needs and I'm running 12/2 in case of future additions to circuit then just the breaker would need upgraded and not all new wiring.
 
  #9  
Old 08-06-14, 08:03 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
The price differance between 15 am and 20 amp breakers is zero. Just buy/install a 20 amp and be done with it.
 
  #10  
Old 08-07-14, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
Going to return the 15 amp breaker now. Does make more sense to go with 20 amp at the start.
 
  #11  
Old 08-07-14, 05:18 PM
bigboypete's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 218
Yes wire nut. Wire nuts seem like more unnecessary work.
Is this a multiwire branch circuit?
 
  #12  
Old 08-07-14, 06:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
It's 2 receptacles wired together in a 2 gang box. I plan on running to another receptacle in the same room at some point also.
 
  #13  
Old 08-07-14, 07:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Just one incoming cable feeding two devices on the same circuit in a two gang box.
 
  #14  
Old 08-07-14, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
That's correct. And then the same circuit extended to feed another receptacle or two later down the road.
 
  #15  
Old 08-07-14, 07:52 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Pigtails are the way to go. Another wire can be added later when needed.
 
  #16  
Old 08-07-14, 09:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
I pigtail the hot and neutral and then attach to first receptacle from pigtail and another black and white wire from pigtail to 2nd receptacle? Is that the correct way to do pigtails?
 
  #17  
Old 08-07-14, 09:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Yes, two sets of pigtails, one for each receptacle is a good way to do it. After making the pigtails I'd fold the cable(s) into the back center of the box to get them out of the way.

Note: I'd also pigtail the grounds.I find that easier to work with then a continuous ground wire but that is personal preference.
 
  #18  
Old 08-07-14, 09:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
Ok then to go to next receptacle on another wall I just add a black and white to the pigtail I'd make for this receptacle and run the wire to the next 2 gang box?
 
  #19  
Old 08-07-14, 09:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Yes, but you would use a cable not wire to the next box.
 
  #20  
Old 08-08-14, 01:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 94
Correct 12/2 cable not just bare black and white wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes