L5-30 on 15 amp line in work shop


  #1  
Old 08-05-14, 07:21 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 258
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
L5-30 on 15 amp line in work shop

I would like to add 2 L5-30 twist receptacles in my basement work area and have a twist lock extension cord that I can plug in to either outlet.

They would be powered by 120v 15 amp lines, the L5-30 is a 30 amp plug, would that be any code faux pas using that plug on a 15amp line?

I just want the twist lock features and can get the 5-30 plug and receptacle for a fraction of the cost of the other twist lock options.

Thank you,
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 08-05-14, 08:29 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
the L5-30 is a 30 amp plug
A L5-30P is a plug and a L5-30R is a receptacle.

They would be powered by 120v 15 amp lines, the L5-30 is a 30 amp plug, would that be any code faux pas using that plug on a 15amp line?
It's a code violation if that's what you mean.
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-14, 09:17 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 258
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thank you CasualJoe,

The L5-30R and P as a kit are less than just a 15amp twist plug alone locally, hence the temptation.
I will look at other options.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: