outlets not working again

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-14, 11:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
outlets not working again

About 6 months ago my fridge stopped working. The outlet the fridge is on is connected to 1 gfci outlet and two ordinary outlets. The breaker was not tripped and the gfci outlet would not reset. So I replaced the gfci outlet, which it turns out the load and line were wired backwards. I assumed this may have created the issue. A keurig coffee maker was also plugged in to one of the ordinary outlets, which I've read can overload and create issues. Everything worked fine after replacing the gfci, the kuerig is now moved. But now I'm having the same problem again, the gfci won't reset and the ordinary outlets won't work. Will probably replace the gfci but wondering if anyone has any suggestions for any underlying issues that may cause this.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-14, 11:27 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,758
Welcome to the forums.

Any room in the panel to add another circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-14, 11:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Yes there is room in the panel. you think I should put the fridge on its own?
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-14, 11:59 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,758
That's pretty much what I was thinking.
 
  #5  
Old 08-06-14, 08:34 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
This just might turn into an easter egg hunt until you find the problem. I doubt your GFI failed that fast but it is possible.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes