conduit drop to panel


  #1  
Old 08-07-14, 04:32 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 236
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
conduit drop to panel

All emt house. Running new circuit. There is quite a traffic jam of conduit right at the panel as well as ceiling joists. Bending pipe for the last 3 ft' is going to be hard.

Is it bad practice to put a junction box right before the panel and make the drop to the panel with flexible metal? That would be the homerun there but the intended outlet(s) are almost 100' away.

FWIW- I was going to run 2 circuits, 1 for my purpose and 1 for future expansion. So prior to that home run I will have 4x#12 in a 1/2" emt. At the homerun I was considering 2 separate "whips" to the panel for the two circuit are put them both in a (?larger) flex.
 
  #2  
Old 08-07-14, 04:43 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,338
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
Junction box before the panel is fine. If your flex is longer then 6', or circuits are larger than 20 amps, you are required to pull in a ground in the flex.

1/2" EMT and FMC is fine for 4/5 wires.
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-14, 04:53 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 236
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was pretty sure it was fine from a code standpoint, but is it sloppy? Would an electrician do that?
 
  #4  
Old 08-07-14, 06:30 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,090
Received 3,980 Upvotes on 3,572 Posts
Sometimes you have no choice and use what works the best. Keep it neat.
 
  #5  
Old 08-07-14, 02:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
While your house may be all conduit at this time your area may allow other more DIY friendly materials. Is conduit required?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: