outlet wiring


  #1  
Old 08-07-14, 05:56 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West
Posts: 247
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
outlet wiring

I am wiring in a dead end outlet into a closet.The Romex will just go up to it and stop there. Just 1 piece of Romex.
THe outlet I am coming off of has the typical wire in and out to the next outlet. The 4 pinch holes are used. There isnt a problem with me using the screws on the side to go up to my dead end outlet is there???? it would save me from doing a bunch of wire nut connections...
 
  #2  
Old 08-07-14, 06:00 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
You can use the screws or pigtail all 3 conductors together with a short piece of wire to the receptacle.

The existing box may be too small to add another cable. Also the NM cannot be subject to physical damage where run in the closet
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-14, 06:02 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
If by "pinch holes" you mean the back stabs it is very poor practice to do what you propose. Make the proper pigtail connections and it will be a far better job.
 
  #4  
Old 08-08-14, 11:41 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West
Posts: 247
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I wired the outlet with both wires on the bottom screws of the outlet correctly and a solid ground. When I tested it
with the tester it said open ground. So I moved the hot up to the top screw position and it came back correct on the tester. Why would that make a difference.???
 
  #5  
Old 08-08-14, 11:53 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Moving a hot wire between the top and bottom screw should make no difference. It has nothing to do with the grounding.
 
  #6  
Old 08-08-14, 02:23 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West
Posts: 247
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I didnt think so.. it was just loose grounds twisted by hand ...by the builder...
it took me 3 hours to get in 1 outlet after numerous hassles....
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-14, 02:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,979
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The ground should be connected with a wire but or crimp cap. They should not just depend on twisting.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: