Photos of Old Outlet. What am I Dealing With?


  #1  
Old 08-12-14, 07:21 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Photos of Old Outlet. What am I Dealing With?

Would like to change to 3 prong. Not sure what I'm dealing with here (Yes amateur, trying to learn!)
#3 & #4 were on one post? Is #5 the ground?
How/what order should wires attach to a modern 3 prong (bedroom)?
Thanks!!

1, 2 White.
3, 4 Black.
5 is Maroon & plastic
Name:  Outlet-Wires1.jpg
Views: 814
Size:  42.8 KB
Name:  Outlet-Wires2.jpg
Views: 2776
Size:  43.5 KB
 
  #2  
Old 08-12-14, 07:41 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 258
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
wirenut 3,4,and5 and pigtail a black wire. wirenut 1 and 2 with a white pigtail. hookup a gfi outlet using the line lugs. black on the brass screw .........white on the silver screw.
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-14, 07:47 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 258
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is #5 the ground?
is screw 3,4 connected to screw 5...if it is it is hot.

is screw 5 connected to the frame of the outlet...then wire 5 is ground and does not join 3,4 ........but is put on the green screw.
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-14, 08:07 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
1, 2 White.
3, 4 Black.
5 is Maroon & plastic
Your numbering of the wires with the corresponding numbers on the receptacle terminals indicate reversed polarity. You need to use a meter to determine which group of wires should be hot and which group of wires is neutral.
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-14, 08:34 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
ALSO, the main room light switch controls the top slot in outlet. ...the whole room seems to run through this outlet.
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-14, 09:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
In the picture you either inadvertently flipped the receptacle over or it was wired wrong.
The white wires connect to the side of the receptacle with the larger slot.

We need to see the large slot side of the receptacle to see if the terminal are tied together.

You do not have any ground wire sticking out of the box.

You will need to check from 3/4 to the box to see if you measure 120vac.
If you do not measure 120v to the box then you can't use a standard 3 prong receptacle.

The purple should be a switched hot.
3 and 4 get connected together and should be always hot.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-12-14 at 09:53 PM.
  #7  
Old 08-12-14, 09:41 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It looks like you have conduit here. If so it would be best to pull new wires in there.
 
  #8  
Old 08-12-14, 10:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Remember Ray.... he'll need to split the receptacle if everything works out.
 
  #9  
Old 08-13-14, 03:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
My mistake. Was assuming both sides had bridges in place. My post has been removed.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 08-13-14 at 03:49 AM.
  #10  
Old 08-13-14, 09:29 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 258
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
brake (remove the jumper) between the brass screws

5 goes to one brass screw and the switch will work half the outlet.

pigtail 3 and 4 to the other brass screw.

put 1 and 2 on the silver screws...NO NOT brake the tab on the silver screws
 
  #11  
Old 08-13-14, 09:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
john.... you are assuming that the neutrals were tied together on the old receptacle. It would probably be best to wait for a confirmation of that first.
 
  #12  
Old 08-13-14, 09:45 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 258
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
john.... you are assuming that the neutrals were tied together on the old receptacle. It would probably be best to wait for a confirmation of that first.
yes.....yes........PJmax is correct...

look at the outlet...screws 1 and 2....is the tab between the 2 screws still intack or is it gone.

keep the new outlet the same way.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 08-14-14 at 08:50 AM. Reason: Remove unneeded content. Original archived.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: