power- relay transfer switch wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-13-14, 07:15 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
power- relay transfer switch wiring

HI
did any one know how to wire this power relay which is used to
automatically switch power between generaator and the main electric line
here is a photo of the power relay


Name:  Asiaon_power_relay_JQX_62F_2Z_80A.jpg
Views: 7421
Size:  26.6 KB


Jqx-62f Power Automatic Transfer Switch Photo, Detailed about Jqx-62f Power Automatic Transfer Switch Picture on Alibaba.com.



the current is 120 amp
the voltage is 220
coil voltage is 220
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-13-14, 04:43 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
I think the title for this is not correct. It appears to only be a standard relay with a 240 volt coil.

This pretty much confirms it: Power relay JQX-62F 2Z 80A_China Asiaon Relays
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-14, 04:51 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
ok sorry for the mistake
what about the wiring
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-14, 04:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
That would wire just like any other relay. Line on one side, normally the top. Load on the other, normally the bottom. Control voltage to the coil.
 
  #5  
Old 08-13-14, 05:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
That relay "could" be the heart of an automatic transfer switch but it won't transfer by itself.

You either need to keep 240vac on the coil so that when you lose normal power the relay will operate/open. You'd need to see if the relay coil was rated for continuous duty.

OR

You can connect the coil to the same location as the generator gets connected so that when you supply generated power the relay will activate.

Based on this..... you'd be better off with a manual transfer switch.
 
  #6  
Old 08-13-14, 06:07 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
the relay was rated to work as below>after
connecting the generator to a lead and the main power supply to another lead
when the coil energized the relay will fed the house from main power supply
when it denergized it will fed the house from the generator
 
  #7  
Old 08-13-14, 07:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
The diagram below illustrates how to wire that relay. I didn't have a clear picture of it so I used the closest one. Be sure you understand what I've drawn before using this relay. Personally, I doubt the coil will stand up to continuous duty without overheating. The blue wires are the coil wires. I've put the fuse in just in case the coil shorts.

With this relay.... when you lose power the relay will open. If you have a momentary glitch in power.... the relay will chatter. I'm advising you of these things as this is not an ideal way to transfer power.

I've drawn the diagram - the responsibility in the use of the circuit is yours.

Name:  relay.JPG
Views: 11468
Size:  37.9 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-13-14 at 07:39 PM. Reason: added diagram
  #8  
Old 08-13-14, 08:06 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
With PJ's diagram the relay would need to be a normally closed relay, so when the relay loses power it closes the contacts. However the power feeding the relay can not be on the same circuit/system as whatever is run by the generator or the relay will open.

As mentioned, this is really for informational purposes only. It would be much easier/better to just buy the proper transfer equipment.
 
  #9  
Old 08-14-14, 01:10 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
thank u pal
the info was very useful
thank u again
 
  #10  
Old 08-24-14, 07:04 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
sorry i forgot to ask
u
what is the different if i fed the contactor coil from Line normal power or from generator power
 
  #11  
Old 08-24-14, 10:36 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Feeding the coil from Line power will keep the coil energized at all times there is normal power. You need to use the contacts that are closed when the relay is powered to carry power thru.

If you powered the coil from the generator you would have to reverse the line and genny connections on the relay.

The wiring to the common part of the switch always goes to the house.
 
  #12  
Old 08-25-14, 04:52 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
i didn't meant about how i fed the coil
but are there any advantages or disadvantages
if i fed the coil from generator or normal power
 
  #13  
Old 08-25-14, 09:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Two disadvantages when feeding the coil from the AC line is that the coil is always energized and on loss of AC power that relay will chatter.
 
  #14  
Old 08-25-14, 05:02 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
so its better to feed the coil from generator
 
  #15  
Old 08-25-14, 05:11 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
ok
what if i use the manual change over switch
its better???

[ATTACH=CONFIG]37029[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #16  
Old 08-25-14, 05:37 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
A manual transfer switch would be a better option IMO.
 
  #17  
Old 08-25-14, 08:11 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
A manual transfer switch would be a better option IMO.
Agree ...............................
 
  #18  
Old 08-25-14, 08:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
I believe I mentioned a manual transfer switch back in my first post. Since you have to start the generator anyway.... a manual switch makes more sense.
 
  #19  
Old 08-25-14, 11:44 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
about generator
in these days i will use my house generator
but may be after a month
i will use the neighborhood generator which is switch on after power ,line off
some times im out of house so a power relay will be necessary
so in this case the coil should be fed from generator or power line
sorry for disturbing u
your help are appreciated
 
  #20  
Old 08-26-14, 10:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Feed the coil from the generator line. This way it will only change the relay when power is being locally generated.
 
  #21  
Old 08-26-14, 12:58 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
im so sorry
for misunderastanding
u mean by
locally generated.
u mean house generator
or neighborhood generator
 
  #22  
Old 08-26-14, 02:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Locally generated means you or your neighbor's generator..... not city power.
 
  #23  
Old 08-27-14, 02:54 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Iraq
Posts: 52
thank u pal
your help were very useful
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes