Tandem to Reguler Socket Switch for AC

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-13-14, 09:21 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tandem to Reguler Socket Switch for AC

Hello!

I was hoping to try and setup a remote switch for my Air conditioner in my apartment, easy enough right? Unfortunately after examining my air conditioning unit I noticed that it is not a traditional wall plug so now I am forced to buy an adapter in order for this to work.

I have an idea of how I think the setup would work but I would like to double check to ensure that I am not going to be blowing anything up or destroying anything by having a setup like this. (No sparks flying when I plug it in)

My thought is that I will need to take the Air Conditioner Plug, and go into an adapter, and from the adapter into a Belkin switch. I am just concerned to whether or not this will be safe for the apartment and the outlet.

AC Plug: [ It appears to have a built in fuse? Any thoughts or concerns about that ]
Name:  ACPlug.jpg
Views: 630
Size:  18.4 KBName:  ACPlug1.jpg
Views: 681
Size:  19.8 KBName:  ACPlug2.jpg
Views: 668
Size:  20.7 KB

Adapter: amazon link for product information/specifications

Name:  Adapter.jpg
Views: 1323
Size:  22.7 KB

Belkin Switch: amazon link for product information/specifications

Name:  Switch.jpg
Views: 578
Size:  17.1 KB

Any and all information is GREATLY appreciated as to whether or not this setup would function appropriately and safely in my apartment.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-13-14, 10:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
That is a 240 volt control module. If your AC is 120 volts it won't work.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-14, 07:09 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,606
Received 205 Votes on 182 Posts
Ray was close. You A/C appears to be 240 volts. The Belkin Switch is for running 120 volt devices.

The final answer is still the same, it won't work.
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-14, 07:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thanks for the correction. I misunderstood his pictures.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: