Adding an outlet


  #1  
Old 08-15-14, 12:53 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denville, NJ
Posts: 107
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Adding an outlet

Hi, Hung my new LED TV on the wall, next step hide the ugly wires! I am adding an outlet about 3 feet higher than one already there so it is behind the TV. Unfortunately, when i took the plate off, there are no cutout holes in the existing new construction box so i can join the wires. Should I drill a hole in the plastic box so I can run the new wire?
 
  #2  
Old 08-15-14, 01:16 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Take a small flashlight and look at the back of the box. You should see 4 knockouts, 2 at outer top, and 2 at outer bottom. These are easily knocked out with a long screwdriver and hammer.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-14, 01:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
cutout holes in the existing new construction box
Actually you should be using an old work box and recessed receptacle.

Name:  ElectricalBoxBack.gif
Views: 120
Size:  14.9 KB

Source: Structured Home Wiring

Name:  957_tn.jpg
Views: 107
Size:  33.8 KB

Or use something like this:

Name:  690.jpg
Views: 175
Size:  9.6 KB

http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j...08222835184667
 
  #4  
Old 08-15-14, 02:36 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denville, NJ
Posts: 107
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi Handy, you were right, took a hammer and screwdriver to it and the corner notched out so i can slip the wire through.

Ray, I am using the blue box for my new receptacle, I originally meant the old box that I am tying the new box into.

Thanks all for your help, ready for the next step!!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: