AC cable in middle of circuit (pull box?)

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-15-14, 04:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 284
AC cable in middle of circuit (pull box?)

Hello- I am extending a circuit. The circuit is all EMT. I am having trouble making a tricky bend around some ceiling joists.

Is it proper to put a piece of flex conduit for a short span?

Meaning from one junction box thru the area I am having trouble bending thru to another junction box I would use aromored cable. I wouldn't splice in that new junction box but simply pull my wire thru. It would be probably another 20 feet from the new box to the device I am wiring.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-15-14, 04:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,352
If you are using armored cable like MC or AC you are going to need to splice it to the existing conductors.

Does you area require conduit? Some areas have limits on the amount of flex.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-14, 06:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
Is it proper to put a piece of flex conduit for a short span?
you may

if you are using the EMT for your ground you need to install jumper over/through the flex.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'