AC cable in middle of circuit (pull box?)


  #1  
Old 08-15-14, 04:08 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 236
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
AC cable in middle of circuit (pull box?)

Hello- I am extending a circuit. The circuit is all EMT. I am having trouble making a tricky bend around some ceiling joists.

Is it proper to put a piece of flex conduit for a short span?

Meaning from one junction box thru the area I am having trouble bending thru to another junction box I would use aromored cable. I wouldn't splice in that new junction box but simply pull my wire thru. It would be probably another 20 feet from the new box to the device I am wiring.
 
  #2  
Old 08-15-14, 04:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,980
Received 196 Upvotes on 172 Posts
If you are using armored cable like MC or AC you are going to need to splice it to the existing conductors.

Does you area require conduit? Some areas have limits on the amount of flex.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-14, 06:10 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 258
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is it proper to put a piece of flex conduit for a short span?
you may

if you are using the EMT for your ground you need to install jumper over/through the flex.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: