Daisychaining junction boxes

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-18-14, 04:26 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Daisychaining junction boxes

I currently have 3 exterior GFCIs (R1, R2 and R3) wired up to a junction box (J) as follows (20A circuit):



All the wiring is exposed in the basement.

I want to add another GFCI (R4) on the opposite side external wall.

I can't see any practical difference between the following two approaches but I'm not sure if there is any code governing the use of daisy-chained junction boxes? I have enough slack wire in the existing P->J wire run that I can introduce a new junction box.


Add second junction box



Chain through new receptacle

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-18-14, 04:33 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
either way is fine with the NEC.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-14, 07:46 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
If you place the gfi at R4 and wire R1, R2, and R3 from the load terminal you will only need one gfi.
 
  #4  
Old 08-19-14, 07:21 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you place the gfi at R4 and wire R1, R2, and R3 from the load terminal you will only need one gfi.
I didn't go into a lot of unnecessary detail. There was already a GFCI at R4 but it was wired to the washing machine circuit (not by me). Also, I'm fine doing like you say in bathrooms/kitchens etc but I'm not so keen on it when the receptacles are some distance apart (the pictures I posted were not to scale).
 
  #5  
Old 08-19-14, 07:53 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
The laundry circuit should not have other outlets.
 
  #6  
Old 08-19-14, 09:53 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 161
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The laundry circuit should not have other outlets.
Which is why I'm moving it. Anyways, thanks to johnsc for answering my question.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: