Ceiling fan motor wiring-extension cord

Old 08-23-14, 02:11 PM
Ceiling fan motor wiring-extension cord

First let me preface this with I am not an electrician and all my actions up to this point were based on assumptions. I am attempting to build a ball mill using a ceiling fan motor. I assumed I could do this running from an extension cord. I purchased a used fan, stripped it down to basically a motor with a shaft running through it, with 4 wires coming out of said shaft. As I said, I'm not an electirician, but didn't expect the colors to be red, yellow, brown, and purple. I have no clue how to wire this to an extension cord or if its even possible. Any advice would be really appreciated. There was a light and other wires in the light base and I removed these. I still have them if they are necessary.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-23-14, 02:29 PM
It sounds like you have a 2-speed, 240 volt, PSC motor. Is there an information sticker on the motor? May I ask? What is a ball mill? Something to do with baseballs?

Update- are you sure there are only 1 purple and 1 yellow and not 2 of each?

Last edited by daddyjohn; 08-23-14 at 02:39 PM. Reason: update
Old 08-23-14, 02:40 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Please complete your profile so we will know where you are located. Since we are primarily a North American forum, not knowing you are from a country with different electrical systems could conjure up incorrect information.

Old 08-23-14, 03:55 PM
Group Moderator
A ceiling fan has very little torque. I seriously doubt it would run a ball mill.

Old 08-23-14, 04:40 PM
Group Moderator
That's a standard 120vac fan motor. Those wires get connected to capacitors as well as power.

Old 08-23-14, 06:36 PM