Replacing a switch/outlet with a single pole timer

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-26-14, 06:07 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing a switch/outlet with a single pole timer

Could anyone offer some guidance for replacing the existing outlet/switch combo with just a single pole mechanical timer?

The outlet and switch operate independently, so I imagine I will have to cap off the outlet wires. I'm not really sure which is which, and what connects where. See the attached pictures for existing wiring conditions and the timer wiring.
 
Attached Images     
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-26-14, 06:14 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is there a tab between two screws on one side of the switch/receptacle?
 
  #3  
Old 08-26-14, 06:33 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there a tab between two screws on one side of the switch/receptacle?
No there's not. The outlet works regardless if the switch is on or off.
 
  #4  
Old 08-26-14, 06:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
So you are saying the switch is a switch loop? That could be a problem. You would not have a neutral for the switch. Yes a neutral for the receptacle but you probably can't by code use a separately derived neutral. You might need to do some rewiring at the light.

Name:  Sw_Loopb-1_zps69e9ba8b.jpg
Views: 1925
Size:  19.5 KB
 
  #5  
Old 08-26-14, 06:46 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Each cable (one yellow and one white) each has a white and black wire coming from it (pic 3). I assume this means that the switch and receptacle each have a neutral?
 
  #6  
Old 08-26-14, 07:00 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Each cable (one yellow and one white) each has a white and black wire coming from it (pic 3). I assume this means that the switch and receptacle each have a neutral?
If the neutrals are not connected to to each other the that is incorrect. The white connected to the switch is not a neutral. See my diagram above.
Each cable (one yellow and one white)
That may indicate another problem. What size is the breaker? What gauge is the white cable.


Name:  timer.jpg
Views: 201
Size:  26.0 KB

This is not a mechanical timer. It is an electronic timer with a neutral but you wrote:
just a single pole mechanical timer
 
  #7  
Old 08-26-14, 07:42 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The neutrals are connected to each other via the bottom left screw at the outlet. And yes, you are correct it is not a mechanical timer, rather a single pole electronic.

Would this wiring work with my situation?
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 08-26-14, 08:17 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The wiring in your diagram is correct but the yellow cable indicates this may be on a 20 amp breaker. If the white cable is #14 the breaker needs to be changed to 15 amps.

P.S. Good job on the diagram.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: