Grounding question

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-26-14, 08:31 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grounding question

I just started a project of re-doing a closet in our basement that we might eventually turn into a bathroom. All of the existing electrical is going to be removed and new wires run for a new switch, lights, and outlet. My issue is that the main run that feeds the existing junction box is not grounded. This junction box feeds the existing switch, lights, and outlet.

Not having things grounded is not a huge surprise to me as this is something I have been uncovering as I work on my house. I have had several professional electricians come in and neither one of them seemed to be overly concerned with this.

I would think the obvious/best thing to do would be to pull a new run from the panel to the junction box that is grounded. This however will involve tearing up a recently finished renovated basement (the closet is the last part). Would it be ok to buy boxes that I can ground the wires to using a grounding screw?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-26-14, 08:34 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
If the wiring method does not have a grounding means you have nothing to ground to even if you switch the box. What wiring method do you have?
 
  #3  
Old 08-26-14, 08:49 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry to be a complete rookie....but what do you mean by wiring method?
 
  #4  
Old 08-26-14, 08:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
The way is is wired. Is it cables with a spiral metal sheath or plastic or fabric covered wires?
 
  #5  
Old 08-26-14, 09:00 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe it is plastic. I know it is not metal.
 
  #6  
Old 08-26-14, 09:06 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
Can you post a pic or do you know when the house was built?
 
  #7  
Old 08-26-14, 09:11 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I want to say either 1954 or 56.
 
  #8  
Old 08-26-14, 09:14 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
That pre dates non metallic cables.
 
  #9  
Old 08-26-14, 09:23 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok. I am fairly certain that there is no metal sheathing around the outside of the wires but I will take a pic when I get home.
 
  #10  
Old 08-26-14, 10:28 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just started a project of re-doing a closet in our basement that we might eventually turn into a bathroom. All of the existing electrical is going to be removed and new wires run for a new switch, lights, and outlet. My issue is that the main run that feeds the existing junction box is not grounded. This junction box feeds the existing switch, lights, and outlet.

you may pick up a ground at one of the possibilities on this list.

250.130 (C)

(C) Nongrounding Receptacle Replacement or Branch
Circuit Extensions. The equipment grounding conductor
of a grounding-type receptacle or a branch-circuit extension
shall be permitted to be connected to any of the following:

(1) Any accessible point on the grounding electrode sys-
tem as described in 250.50

(2) Any accessible point on the grounding electrode con-
ductor

(3) The equipment grounding terminal bar within the en-
closure where the branch circuit for the receptacle or
branch circuit originates

(4) An equipment grounding conductor that is part of an-
other branch circuit that originates from the enclosure
where the branch circuit for the receptacle or branch
circuit originates
 

Last edited by pcboss; 08-26-14 at 04:04 PM. Reason: rephrased for clarity
  #11  
Old 08-26-14, 05:33 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. So here is what I have. Here are two images that I took of the junction box currently in the closet. Going into the box is the run from the panel (right side), a wire to the switches (towards you), going somewhere outside (left side), and to an outlet (backside which you cannot see). There is no current ground going into the junction box. Any suggestions on how I could ground things?

Name:  DSC_0001.jpg
Views: 258
Size:  24.9 KB

Name:  DSC_0003.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  24.4 KB
 

Last edited by pschro1; 08-26-14 at 06:28 PM.
  #12  
Old 08-26-14, 07:06 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
Luckily for you the circuits are grounded. The grounds are simply terminated outside the box. I would turn off the power and remove the bare grounds and insert them into the box and splice them all together along with a pigtail to the box. There should be a threaded hole for a 10-32 ground screw in the back of the box.

If the grounds are too short a connector like an Ideal push-in connector would work very well.
 
  #13  
Old 08-27-14, 05:24 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks pcboss! That's what I wanted to hear I will probably have to make a pigtail work though as there are 5 connections (my 4 runs and then one to the ground screw) that I will need to put into the Ideal connector. HomeDepot only sells connectors with 4 ports.
 
  #14  
Old 08-27-14, 06:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
Jumper two of the 4 port connectors together.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: