Splicing a 240V Pool Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-29-14, 06:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Splicing a 240V Pool Circuit

I am relocating my main panel 20 ft. The existing 40A 240VAC pool circuit is a home run from existing panel to pump (4 individual conductors). Would like to cut line in garage and install junction box, then splice in a new 20ft. Length of wire to the new panel. Is this within code?? I am from Long Island, NY. Contractor is telling me a pool feed has to be a home run. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-29-14, 08:12 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
As long as the junction is permanently accessible it would meet the NEC requirements. Your local area may have an amendment to the NEC. You should be able to ask your local building authority.
 
  #3  
Old 08-29-14, 11:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Pcboss, thanks for the response. Electrician said it had to be home run because of ground wire. Ground has to be straight run to pool pump and cannot be spliced. Any thoughts on this??
 
  #4  
Old 08-29-14, 12:22 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Not that I am aware of. Can you ask where this requirement come from?
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-14, 03:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
He says that's the code. Anyone form Long Island want to weigh in on this, cause maybe it's a local code??
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-14, 03:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,048
I wonder if he is thinking of the code for ground rod wires?
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-14, 04:43 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Could you ask them to cite an NEC Article or post the local amendment?
 
  #8  
Old 08-31-14, 10:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
I'll try, thanks. Does anyone no the NEC code for not splicing ground rod connections?
 
  #9  
Old 08-31-14, 12:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
The GEC from the panel to the first electrode must be one continuous piece or irreversibly splice. That has nothing to due with the EGC for the pool.
 
  #10  
Old 08-31-14, 12:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,048
PCBoss I think Swidster ask about the GEC because of my off hand remark in post #6 suggesting the contractor might be con fusing rules for GED with rules for EGC. Didn't mean to confuse things.
 
  #11  
Old 09-01-14, 05:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks guys. You may have saved me $1500 that they wanted to charge me to run a new line from new panel to pool pump. I had said why not just splice in a junction box in garage, but they started with the "must be a straight run from panel to pump! hope this flys!!
 
  #12  
Old 09-01-14, 07:23 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
must be a straight run from panel to pump!
As mentioned, the only ground wires that I know of that is required to be continuous is the one from the main panel to the water pipe, and the one to the ground rod.

The NEC does not require equipment grounding wires to be continuous. Your location might be different, a call to the AHJ might be in order.
 
  #13  
Old 09-01-14, 09:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Sorry, AHJ?? What is AHJ?
 
  #14  
Old 09-01-14, 09:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,048
Authority Having Jurisdiction, AKA in this case electrical inspector.
 
  #15  
Old 09-02-14, 07:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Guys, no good, electrician says inspector will not allow a splice in line from pool pump to panel. I also called local electric supply and they said the same thing - although they thought the requirement was rediculous and said to do it anyway. But my electrician said he would not install anything against code. In addition he said that the inspectors are extra sensitive to pool wiring! Thanks any way. Now he is proposing a sub panel instead of running a new line, we'll see if it's cheaper then the $1500 for a new line😳😁. Swidster
 
  #16  
Old 09-03-14, 05:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Guys, electrician said it's no good! Inspector will not allow a splice in pool pump circuit. I spoke to a local electrical supply guy also and he confirmed the same, although he thought it was an unnecessary requirement. He said I should splice anyway, but I told him I was having other work done and then he sided with the electrician. Now my electrician has suggested a sub panel, so the pool pump ckt will remain and avoid running 100+ ft of me pool feed. We'll se what that costs!!😳😳
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes