Motion Sensor Flood Light - Hardwiring acceptable?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-31-14, 01:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Motion Sensor Flood Light - Hardwiring acceptable?

I wanted to install a motion sensor flood light (activates if someone were to enter the back yard through the fence door on side of house) and don't want it to be switched (meaning it will always work if dark).

Is there any code violation if I were to hard wire this to a single receptacle circuit in the attic (garage door opener ceiling receptacle) without a switch or are all lights required to be switched?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-31-14, 01:12 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
It can be wired to always have power.
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-14, 01:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,230
You are not required to put a switch in the line.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes