Motion Sensor Flood Light - Hardwiring acceptable?


  #1  
Old 08-31-14, 12:09 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Motion Sensor Flood Light - Hardwiring acceptable?

I wanted to install a motion sensor flood light (activates if someone were to enter the back yard through the fence door on side of house) and don't want it to be switched (meaning it will always work if dark).

Is there any code violation if I were to hard wire this to a single receptacle circuit in the attic (garage door opener ceiling receptacle) without a switch or are all lights required to be switched?
 
  #2  
Old 08-31-14, 12:12 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It can be wired to always have power.
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-14, 12:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,167
Received 1,525 Votes on 1,408 Posts
You are not required to put a switch in the line.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: