Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Grounding attic antenna to existing grounding electrode bonding

Grounding attic antenna to existing grounding electrode bonding

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-03-14, 08:22 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grounding attic antenna to existing grounding electrode bonding

I have a case where my home has two ground rods on opposite sides (long story). There is a #4 solid copper bonding conductor running through the attic of the garage to bond them together.

I have a cell phone booster antenna at the top (inside the roof) of my garage attic. Can I simply run a ground wire from that antenna and connect it to the bonding conductor running through the attic rather than running the antenna ground all the way to one of the the ground rods?

If so, what is the acceptable method of connecting the antenna ground wire (I will be using #8 solid copper) to the existing bonding conductor in the attic?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 09-03-14, 10:26 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 278
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I simply run a ground wire from that antenna and connect it to the bonding conductor running through the attic rather than running the antenna ground all the way to one of the the ground rods?
yes


If so, what is the acceptable method of connecting the antenna ground wire (I will be using #8 solid copper) to the existing bonding conductor in the attic?
use a split bolt. google " split bolt "
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-14, 07:27 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks -- This will make the job much easier...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: