Upgrading receptacle in kitchen


  #1  
Old 09-07-14, 10:11 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Upgrading receptacle in kitchen

I would like to swap out one older receptacle with a newer one that includes USB power (USB Charger_TR7745).

The issue I'm having, like so many others, is that there is a red wire present.

Here is the original receptacle as it was wired:

Name:  original_recep.jpg
Views: 509
Size:  40.1 KB

Here is what the wiring looks like inside the box:

Name:  wiring.jpg
Views: 744
Size:  24.2 KB

The original receptacle is on a double poled 15A circuit. The circuit powers one additional outlet as far as I can tell but no high load appliances (e.g. dishwasher, garbage disp, etc.). It is in the kitchen so it may have been switched, hooked up to a fan or a large appliance in the past but that would have been before we moved in.

The new receptacle, as expected, only has a hot, neutral and ground wire.

How would I go about wiring this?

I'm located in Canada\Ontario.

Happy to provide any additional info if needed.

Thanks,
John
 
  #2  
Old 09-07-14, 10:29 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Since if I recall correctly Canadian code requires split receptacles in the kitchen the simplest would be to replace the single gang box with a double gang box and add the USB receptacle. You would replace the existing breakers with a 2-pole (240v) GFCI breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 09-07-14, 03:47 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I find it interesting that the Cooper receptacle/USB charging device has one end marked "TOP". When in the proper position, the ground holes are up.
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-14, 06:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
There was discussion on a trade site about whether those would be allowed on a SABC since the code says shall have no other outlets. I don't remember the consensus opinion.
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-14, 08:05 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
There was discussion on a trade site about whether those would be allowed on a SABC since the code says shall have no other outlets. I don't remember the consensus opinion.
That's a good point. It's low voltage, but it is another outlet and appears that it would violate the NEC, but the OP is in Canada.
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-14, 04:27 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Maybe power to your disposal?

How much do you want to get into this ha ha? I mean you can go get a tracer for like $40 and find out.

edit: See you wrote not power to the disposal. Never mind.

Personally I would coil it up and cap it, wrap it in electrical tape, and stuff it back into the box. Install the GFCI receptacle with your USB, and then wait. If after a few months, you haven't noticed anything not running you're good.

If after a day, you find what it provided juice to, reconnect it.
 
  #7  
Old 09-08-14, 05:38 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
To Steve, as Ray said in post #2 split wired receptacles were a requirement in the CEC. The red is the second hot, not a feed for something like a DW. They had two 15 amp circuits available at each duplex vs the single 20 amp in a US kitchen.
 
  #8  
Old 09-08-14, 08:00 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So he could cap it or must it be connected?

And if he must connect it per code, is then the issue where to find the receptacle he wants to fit both, being up to code and having a USB, and being a GFCI?
 
  #9  
Old 09-08-14, 08:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
And if he must connect it per code, is then the issue where to find the receptacle he wants to fit both, being up to code and having a USB, and being a GFCI?
I answered that in post #2.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: