Switch to nowhere.....

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-09-14, 06:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Switch to nowhere.....

Been in the house three years, not the original owners. We have a switch that has hot incoming, and hot outgoing when the switch is flipped, but it does not appear to connect to anything.

I've opened all receptacles looking for extra wires, and there is nothing - no ceiling fans...... Everything works, whether the switch is on or not. It may go into an area of the attic that is sealed, perhaps for an outdoor light that was never installed, but who knows.

Is it ok to remove the switch, wire nut everything in there separately including the incoming hot terminating it in the switch box, and put a blank plate on the thing? I don't want anyone turning it on and leaving it on not knowing where it terminates.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-09-14, 06:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Question answered - goes to the hot tub we have never used. What a doofus.
 
  #3  
Old 09-09-14, 06:36 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,639
Is it ok to remove the switch, wire nut everything in there separately including the incoming hot terminating it in the switch box, and put a blank plate on the thing?
Yes, that would be okay.

.
 
  #4  
Old 09-09-14, 02:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Thanks Ray - took me three years, but just discovered the switch goes to the hot tub across the room. First time I had seen that!
 
  #5  
Old 09-09-14, 03:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,639
Was probably intended to be a timer or deadface GFCI. Does the tub plug into a GFCI receptacle?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'