Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Pool 20A outlet breaker not tripping, but main 2x60A breaker does?

Pool 20A outlet breaker not tripping, but main 2x60A breaker does?


  #1  
Old 09-09-14, 12:50 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pool 20A outlet breaker not tripping, but main 2x60A breaker does?

We are testing some new electrical (lamp posts) out at our pool. We tested the lights by hooking the electrical wire up to a plug (one of those big yellow plugs you screw the wires into) and then plugging that into an outlet at the pool. The pool's outlet has a dedicated breaker (20A).

Unfortunately, there was a short in the wire causing the breaker to trip. But, it would only trip the breaker in the house (2x60A) and not the dedicated outlet breaker at the pool. This cause many trips to reset as we troubleshot the wiring issue! Why didn't the outlet breaker trip? What can I do to troubleshoot?

Thanks in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 09-09-14, 01:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Is the 60 amp breaker a GFCI breaker? Is the 20 amp breaker a GFCI?
 
  #3  
Old 09-09-14, 01:37 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Sounds like you need a multimeter to check for a short to ground or neutral. It is not good to keep resetting the breaker without finding the fault.
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-14, 01:25 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your replies. How would I use my multimeter to check for a short? Would checking for continuity be enough?

The breakers are not GFCI as far as I can tell. The 20A definitely is not. The 60A double does not appear to be either, but it does have a test button.
 
  #5  
Old 09-19-14, 02:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Yes, with power off and wires disconnected measure resistance to ground for the hot and for hot to neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 09-20-14, 05:59 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,057
Received 159 Upvotes on 145 Posts
If it has a test button it would be a GFCI.in which case it is probably not tripping on a short but a ground fault,(current leaking to ground)the 20 amp is not tripping because it is not a dead short,are these posts fed with cable buried under ground ?
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 09-20-14, 06:23 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,269
Received 860 Upvotes on 723 Posts
Geo is correct. The 60 is a GFCI, the test button confirms this. Your issue is a ground fault, not a short/overcurrent.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: