Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Replaced 15 Amp Breakers and still no power in 1/2 of house.

Old 09-10-14, 07:13 AM

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 1352
Size:  46.2 KBName:  breaker box 2.jpg
Views: 971
Size:  44.9 KBI have a 1,000 sq. ft. rental property. Turned on an air conditioner window unit, it immediately turned off within a few seconds. I go to check the breaker that typically flips and found it was still in the ON position. I flipped the breaker and nothing happened. The power is still out on that one half of the house. I replaced both of the 15 Amp breakers that I thought were faulty but to no avail the power is still out. I am not a licensed electrician but am educated enough in regards to electricity and installing new outlets and other miscellaneous stuff throughout my property. I am at a lost here. Looking for an easy explanation of what I should do next? Maybe pay to have an electrician come and check it out? I am on a very tight budget. Thank you community I appreciate your feedback.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-10-14, 07:36 AM
Super Moderator
Welcome to the forums..............

Stand by for one of the pros to assist... It would seem you lost one leg to the home... Possibly the main breaker at fault? IDK..

Please be very careful working in the panel... You can be killed.... If you are unsure then yes a pro should be called in..

I assume a test with a multimeter can confirm a few things. Do you have one and know how to use it?

Old 09-10-14, 07:40 AM
I do have a multi-meter and have a general idea of how to use it. Maybe I am missing something here. Would the MAIN breaker be located outside of my home? Versus the MAIN at the top of my breaker panel?

Old 09-10-14, 07:46 AM