gfci outlet


  #1  
Old 09-11-14, 12:55 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
gfci outlet

I have 20 amp outlet in bathroom in of run with 4 outlet
can I replace outlet in bathroom with 20 amp gfci without
running new electric cable
 
  #2  
Old 09-11-14, 01:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Bathroom receptacles should be on a dedicated 20 amp circuit using at least #12. The GFCI receptacle can be a 15 amp receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-14, 05:24 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 258
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
i have 20 amp outlet in bathroom in of run with 4 outlet
can i replace outlet in bathroom with 20 amp gfci without
running new electric cable
yes............................................................................................................
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-14, 05:48 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 985
Received 160 Upvotes on 133 Posts
Poster states that there is a 20amp outlet (tells me a 20amp receptacle-not 20amp circuit necessarily). This does not mean for sure that the circuit is 20amp rated with #12 wire. Someone could have put a 20amp receptacle on a 15amp circuit; which of course is not code.

In this case he can't put in a 20amp GFCI not knowing for sure if the existing circuit is 20amp #12. Can put in 15amp GFCI.

If a 20amp circuit with #12 can use either 15amp or 20amp GFCI receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-14, 07:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
We also don't know if the four receptacles are all in bathrooms. That seems unlikely.
run with 4 outlets
Which is why I wrote it must be a dedicated circuit.

Above assumes outlets refers to receptacles not lights.
 
  #6  
Old 09-12-14, 08:44 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
gfcioutlet

4 outlet not in bathroom 12-2 w/g cable 20amp breaker
want to add gfci in bathroom to same cable can it be done
 
  #7  
Old 09-12-14, 08:52 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
4 outlet not in bathroom 12-2 w/g cable 20amp breaker
want to add gfci in bathroom to same cable can it be done
Yes, but I'd use a 15A GFCI receptacle and not waste the extra $$ on a 20A device.
 
  #8  
Old 09-12-14, 09:09 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
But it won't meet code.

.
 
  #9  
Old 09-12-14, 09:20 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
But it won't meet code.
True, but I assumed this was all existing wiring.
 
  #10  
Old 09-12-14, 11:11 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,971
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
This does not sound like a simplex receptacle in the bathroom. The OP states it it in a run of 4 so a circuit rated device is not needed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: