Replacing a Federal Pacific Breaker Panel w/ 40 Circuits?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-14, 11:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 21
Replacing a Federal Pacific Breaker Panel w/ 40 Circuits?

I have to replace an old Federal Pacific () breaker panel being used in a 20 unit apartment building. Each apartment has two single 40amp breakers in the current panel. Also, the panel is 50 inches high and 12 inches wide. The height is crucial because there are four banks of electrical meters next to the panel and the wiring comes in at all four levels. The original cover of the FP box is missing, so I don't know how many total amps the new panel needs to be. Is anyone familiar enough with these old FP panels to suggest a replacement panel that is 48-50 inches in height and will handle 40, 40 amp breakers? Many thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-14, 12:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Each apartment has two single 40amp breakers in the current panel
That would be wrong. Assuming each apartment has a subpanel that should be one 2-pole breaker.

Assuming each apartment does have a 40 amp feed it is too little to meet today's electrical needs so probably every thing need to be replaced, especially if the subpanels are FPE.
 
  #3  
Old 09-12-14, 01:09 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
This is well beyond the scope of a DIY project.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-14, 02:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 21
That would be wrong. Assuming each apartment has a subpanel that should be one 2-pole breaker.
We looked and in the basement panel, each unit has two wires and two separate 40 amp breakers. There are also breakers in the individual apartment units (20 amps in there).
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-14, 03:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
We looked and in the basement panel, each unit has two wires and two separate 40 amp breakers.
Are the breakers in the main panel handle tied?
There are also breakers in the individual apartment units (20 amps in there).
Do you mean subpanels with 20 amp breakers? How many breakers in the subpanel? Can you please post pictures your description isn't making much sense. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...-pictures.html

Of course as PCBoss said this is not a DIY project. All we can do is help you understand what an electrician will need to do.
 
  #6  
Old 09-12-14, 07:14 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
Is anyone familiar enough with these old FP panels to suggest a replacement panel that is 48-50 inches in height and will handle 40, 40 amp breakers?
The height of the FPE panel versus a new panel is no big deal, a pull box of the same depth and width can easily be added under a new panel to get the required height. The contractor you choose should have no problem with this or calculating the load to determine the amperage of the new panel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes