Connecting ovens in a NYC school

Old 09-13-14, 01:44 PM
Connecting ovens in a NYC school

Can I use regular emt pipes inside a school cafeteria in New York?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-13-14, 02:28 PM
Super Moderator
Thats a Pro question and I'm not sure we have anyone real familiar with all NY codes. Best thing would be to call your local Codes Compliance office.

I know conduit is required everywhere in some jurisdictions, but being a school, there may be even more strict standards.

Old 09-13-14, 03:00 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Working in a school is typically going to require a contractor. They should know the rules. Job specifications should also be able to tell you the materials allowed.

Last edited by pcboss; 09-14-14 at 06:18 AM.
Old 09-13-14, 07:11 PM
A permit and inspection will probably be required too. Are you licensed in NYC?

Old 09-14-14, 06:20 AM
No.. I'm an electrician mechanic doing this for a contractor who doesnt know much about electrical.
I thought about using EMT with compression fittings, but need to make sure if it is ok... Otherwise I might just use aluminum.....

Old 09-14-14, 06:46 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
It does not sound like you have the background or any license or insurance. I would pass on this to avoid exposing yourself to any risk or liability should something go wrong.

Old 09-14-14, 07:09 AM
No.. I'm an electrician mechanic doing this for a contractor who doesnt know much about electrical.
Someone must hold a license, either you or the contractor you work for. I don't know if New York licenses each individual electrician or if they license contractors, but I suspect that contractors are licensed at the local level and must not only take a test, but also provide insurance certificates and bonding certificates to have the license issued. Without a license you cannot take out the required permits. Without the required permits you cannot call for inspection.