Replacing 2 antique sub panels with 1 modern sub panel


  #1  
Old 09-14-14, 09:57 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing 2 antique sub panels with 1 modern sub panel

I am replacing 2 old (FPE) sub panels with 1 new 125A sub panel. It will house 1 50 amp 220 VAC and two 30 amp 220 vac circuits (3 total). It will be mounted only 3 feet from my main panel. What size feeder wire do I need?
 
  #2  
Old 09-14-14, 11:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
What size feeder wire do I need?
It depends on the loads, not the breaker sizes. If I were to just guess, I'd guess that either a #4 or #3 would work with either an 80 or 100 amp breaker to feed the new subpanel. What do those circuits serve?
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-14, 12:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
What size is the main panel and what loads in it? Better practice often suggested is to move smaller loads to the subpanel and put the high amp loads in the main panel.

Tech note: You have 240 volts nominal not 220.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: