Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Add Receptacle Using Power Source from Doorbell Transformer?

Add Receptacle Using Power Source from Doorbell Transformer?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-14, 12:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Question Add Receptacle Using Power Source from Doorbell Transformer?

Hey Fellow DIY'ers,

I want to hide my subwoofer inside a closet in my media room. I can easily route the audio cable into there, however, I cannot do the same with the electrical power. But....in that same closet is the transformer for my doorbell (see attached picture). Would it really be an issue to pigtail the incoming power in that box and run romex down to a new electrical outlet about 3 feet below it?

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 6189
Size:  28.7 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-15-14, 01:34 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,255
That box is probably mounted to a stud. If you took the cover off you could determine which side it's on. You could cut in a new gem box below that in the wall, in the same stud bay, and easily fish the wire up into the box as long as there was an empty knock out in the bottom of the existing box.

You may find a plastic or metal box. Either type comes with two knockouts on the top and two on the bottom.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-14, 07:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,040
As long as it is a standard box just remove the transformer and install a standard duplex receptacle. Then use a plug in transformer like Westek Address Light Transformer-TF003B at The Home Depot or http://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-Adem...ef=pd_sxp_f_pt
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-14, 07:03 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,064
I'd go with an old work box instead of a gem box.
 
  #5  
Old 09-15-14, 07:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 147
Cool, seems like an easy enough task. I mainly was worried about if doing an extension such as this in the presence of a transformer was to code.

The plug-in transformer is a great idea if I'm having trouble running the wire down the wall.
 
  #6  
Old 09-15-14, 08:55 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,255
An old work box is another name for a cut-in gem box.

Handy box or utility box is different.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes