need to replace baseboard heater???

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-14, 04:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
need to replace baseboard heater???

I need to replace a baseboard electric heater in bath, the circuit for this is a double 20 amp, there are no label on old heater and not sure what to go with , a 500 watt 240 volt 30 inch or a 350 watt 240/208 volt baseboard, would one of these work for me? also would a 22 amp 120/240 volt thermostate work with these , any help on this would be great thanks.:
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-15-14, 08:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Welcome to the forums.

I would stay with the 500 watt heater. It will heat faster than the smaller unit.
500 watts at 240v is only a little over 2 amps so a 22 amp thermostat would work fine.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-14, 08:23 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
circuit for this is a double 20 amp, there are no label on old heater and not sure what to go with , a 500 watt 240 volt 30 inch or a 350 watt 240/208 volt baseboard, would one of these work for me?
Of those you list, I'd probably go with the 500 watt 240 volt heater.

also would a 22 amp 120/240 volt thermostate work with these , any help on this would be great thanks.:
That thermostat should work.
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-14, 09:47 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
How much heat is there now? It was probably sized for the heat loss for that room. Install one too small and it may not keep up.
 
  #5  
Old 09-15-14, 02:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
I was thinking the same thing ,but was not sure about the 240v thing, thank you very much
 
  #6  
Old 09-15-14, 03:01 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
240 is a normal household voltage. 208 is from a 3 phase system commonly found in commercial.
 
  #7  
Old 09-17-14, 02:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
looking at u unit that is 240/208 v , would this and the 22amp 120/240v themostat work for me you think?
 
  #8  
Old 09-17-14, 02:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
What unit?

.
 
  #9  
Old 09-17-14, 02:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
I have closed the other thread you started. What exactly confuses you about 208/240. That is simply the voltage range the heater will operate on. Any heater rated for 208 volts or 240 volts or both will work for you.
 
  #10  
Old 09-17-14, 10:32 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
looking at u unit that is 240/208 v , would this and the 22amp 120/240v themostat work for me you think?

For a unit that is rated 240/208V, ignore the 208V unless you are using 208V. Unless you're in a large commercial building, in a city, or some other rare case you probably have 240V.

Your 22A 120/240V thermostat will work on any 120V or 240V heater that uses less than 22A at 120 or 240V.

To calculate your amperage take your rated watts and divide by the rated voltage.*
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'