GFCI outlet not working


  #1  
Old 09-16-14, 01:46 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
GFCI outlet not working

I have a GFCI outlet that doesn’t work in our bathroom. It has never worked since moving in to the house. I have replaced it and the new one doesn’t work either. It all looks wired properly as far as I can tell. Any ideas why it wouldn't be working or what I can check?
 

Last edited by Gunguy45; 09-17-14 at 01:07 PM.
  #2  
Old 09-16-14, 01:50 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
GFCI outlet not working

Check to see that the wires from the power cable are connected to the LINE screws on the GFCI. It is possible it was just wired incorrectly. Is there more than one cable entering the box?
 

Last edited by Gunguy45; 09-17-14 at 01:08 PM.
  #3  
Old 09-16-14, 07:28 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
You may not have 120 volts to it. You need both a good 120 volt hot wire and a good neutral wire. Use a meter and test the voltage hot-to-neutral and hot-to-ground and let us know what you have.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: