Wiring a contactor


  #1  
Old 09-18-14, 05:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring a contactor

Hi everyone I'm sure this is a easy and lame question but I just wanted to be safe and sure.

I'm hooking up this contactor and not sure how the ground works with it.. Heres a picture of what Ive done so far.
I haven't hooked up the 24v timer yet.Name:  IMG_20140918_124546.jpg
Views: 441
Size:  33.4 KB
 
  #2  
Old 09-18-14, 05:47 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
All grounds are connected together and pigtailed to the box if it is metal..
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-14, 05:47 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Does this look correct? does the contactor need to be grounded itself?
 
  #4  
Old 09-18-14, 05:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
If it is plastic nothing to ground.
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-14, 05:55 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Okay cool thanks for help.
 
  #6  
Old 09-18-14, 06:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,121
Received 3,992 Upvotes on 3,583 Posts
Assuming the mounting enclosure is plastic..... you should take a ground tail to one of the mounting bolts.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: