Taking power off an outlet in series.


  #1  
Old 09-19-14, 06:30 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Taking power off an outlet in series.

Hi, I just added an outdoor outlet to my house and I did it by adding a single piece of 12/2 wire to an outlet that was wired in series on the wall inside. There were 4 terminals on each side of the outlet and now 6 are filled. I just wanted to make sure before I closed things up that this was a legitimate way to do it. I thought I was going to have to run two lines to my new outdoor outlet but when I saw that I could just run a new leg off my existing outlet I decided to try it and seems to work just fine. Any reason this practice is frowned upon?
 
  #2  
Old 09-19-14, 06:42 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,985
Received 199 Upvotes on 174 Posts
The push-ins should not be used for #12 and many frown upon that method using #14 as the spring tension in the device eventually loosens creating problems, but the device can be used to act as a splice point. If you had a back-wired device you are fine as the attachment method is a clamp inside, not a piece of deflected material.
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-14, 06:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
adding a single piece of 12/2 wire
No, that would be cable. Wire is an individual conductor.
There were 4 terminals on each side of the outlet and now 6 are filled.
Do you mean four screws and four back stabs? Backstabs can be unreliable and most recommend not using them. The better way would be to connect the three blacks to one pigtail* and the three whites to another pigtail and the pigtails to two of the screws on the receptacle.

*Pigtail: A 6"-8" length of wire the same gauge and color as the other wires it is being connected to.
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-14, 07:30 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So this is what my outlet looks like. It sounds like I'm ok if your main concerns are the way its connected. I just didn't know if there was any reason I shouldn't "T" a new leg off my outlet. Name:  outlet.jpg
Views: 289
Size:  36.2 KB
 
  #5  
Old 09-19-14, 10:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
That isn't your usual residential receptacle. It is side wired clamp type so there is no need to change your wiring.
 
  #6  
Old 09-20-14, 05:11 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,875
Received 186 Upvotes on 167 Posts
That would be a commercial device. The problem I see with having so many conductors attached to it is it will be difficult to maneuver the device and install it into the box although it is compliant.
 
  #7  
Old 09-20-14, 05:24 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,382
Received 892 Upvotes on 753 Posts
The device box is too small for that many wires. Change it out to a 4x4" box with a single gang mudring.
 
  #8  
Old 09-20-14, 05:34 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah, I tried to get it back in and it was not cooperating
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: